Before it’s been accepted
The freelancer can single-handedly override a milestone (edit) or cancel it.
Whan it’s been accepted, before it has started
Both parties can cancel the milestone.
Once the milestone has started
The freelancer can send their client a request for change. The new milestone will only take over the existing one if the client accepts it.